Being Thankful For What I Have

“In everything give thanks:  for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”  1 Thes. 5:18

I think my sister is so wise and witty and wonderful.  She has helped me more than I can say and I am grateful to have a sister like her.  I wish I had given her more of a chance when I was a kid, but we are foolish when we are young.

But she said something the other day that hit home.  She told me , after I related some recent events about I guy I have a crush on, that I needed to be Thankful for what I have .  And it’s so true.  I often get disappointed when someone I like rejects me, or plans don’t go my way, or for being alone….a widow growing old alone in an apartment by myself, but when I look around and consider how my life is compared to two, four, ten  years ago I can see God’s hand and God blessing me.

For example….I am surrounded by  in my life by so many people to associate with on a spiritual level….people of maturity in the faith.  Usually I would go to a place and the women would reject me off the bat because I wear a head covering when  I pray.  Again, because of my sister’s advice she encouraged me to give these ladies a chance when I was ready to run after the first day.

And never, never in my life have I ever been to a coffee shop where I could actually sense the Spirit of God.  You don’t find that in the world and I definitely have not found that in some of the places I’ve been.   I will not let one person spoil it for me.

Also, never have I lived in a place where I could flourish with my art.  Honestly, the other places I’ve lived were pretty dry and barren when it was concerned with art.

Never have I had someone give me a car!  Wow!  But God did promise he would bless me if I blessed the poor.  His Word is so True.

Never had my own place….my little piece of heaven on Earth all to myself complete with my own art studio to be creative with, and though I don’t share my home with a typical man…..I do share it with the Lord, a man after my own heart and my husband.  And truly, I have prayed for this for a long time…..because just a short time ago I was on medication because I could not handle the depression being in my previous marriage.

I don’t have much money by any means, but I do have the Lord and a great community, church, car, food, and clothing.  Just need to quit complaining about what I don’t have and start thanking God for what I do have.

And did I mention I’m a grandma now?  Yes!  Got my first grandchild last year.

Thank you God and forgive me for not being grateful.

QW

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Being Thankful For What I Have

  1. Hello fellow-blogger,
    Thanks for your reminder that if we look hard enough we can always find something to be grateful to God for. It’s so easy to slip into dissatisfaction mode, when really so many of us are super-abundantly blessed. I guess it’s human nature!

    Like

Leave a Reply

